—past years


The 2011 AIAS annual event was organized by memberschool E.Geppert Academy of Art and Design, Wroclaw, Poland in the first week of November.  Member schools selected their best graduate 2011 to participate in the AIAS Prize of Honour competition.
The winner of the 2011 Prix d’Honeur is Magdalena Garncaz allumnus of the E.Geppert Academy of Art and Design.

Head of the jury: Tjiang Lu, president of TAFA
WangWeiyi, director Art Gallery TAFA
Hieke Luik, artist, The Netherlands

On the occasion of the 20th AIAS anniversary, the AIAS Prix ‘d Honneur was in contradiction to
the AIAS tradition not to award the best graduated student but for the student who was able to
make the most remarkable kite design in the special workshop organized by TAFA
General impression
The jury was surprised by the great diversity of the works that were created in such a short period
of time. It was hard for the jury to decide because there were so many interesting approaches that
mirror the diverse cultures within AIAS.The members of the jury coming from different cultural
backgrounds had interesting discussions and were unanimous in their final choice.
There are two works that attracted most attention, which means that those two kites win the shared
first prize. One of the works did not only go beyond the diverse cultures within AIAS, but had
very interesting layers as well. The artist combined skills with a fresh artistic look by establishing
an challenging reversion; instead of looking up to the image on the kite, which is the common way
to appreciate kites, the work itself looks down and backwards with different eyes different eyes to
the earth. This intervention interacts in a surprisingly new way with the spectator..
The other remarkable project is a kite with a strong decorated image; which works both from
nearby as from a distance as. The image is powerful enough to be appreciated from a larger
distance and is based on an old Asian technique. This is combined with a new and personal view,,
which can serve as a good example for a contemporary attitude towards kites..
The jury therefore decided to give de AIAS Prix ‘d Honneur, worth 2000 Euro (1000 Euro each!)
to Quang Li from TAFA and Shin-na Young from the Kaywon School of Art and


The jury  decided to give de AIAS Prix ‘d Honneur 2010, worth 2000 Euro (1000 Euro each!) to Quang Li from TAFA and Shin-na Young from the Kaywon School of Art and Design


Laura Culham allumnus of the University College Falmouth won the prize in 2009 during the annual event at the University College Falmouth

Suzanne Richle from the Zürcher Hochschule für Gestaltung, Switzerland was the winner of the Prize of Honour 2008 in Istanbul.

Both exhibition and competition were organized by the Zürcher Hochschule für Gestaltung. The jury decided to award the work of Sachi Miyachi of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie.

The jury of the Aias Prize of Hounour 2006 conveyed for the decision has unanimously decided to choose the work of Avi Krispin, of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie as the recipient of the 2006 prize.

The jury of the AIAS prize competition in Baltimore came to the unanimous decision to chose for the multimedia work submitted by Sung-Min Bae, Gwan-Young Baek, and Dea-Hyun Ko from the Kaywon School of Art and Design, Seoul, Korea, to receive the AIAS Prize of Honour 2005.
The works of all participants were shown in the schools gallery.
Here you can read: the juryreport

The exhibition and the competition 2004 were organised in the AKI building Enschede.
A jury of experts in the field of Art an Design decided for two prize winners:
Miss Hye-Kyoung-Ham from the Kaywon School of Art and Design in Seoul and
Miss Maria Zervou from the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam.

The board decided there would be no prize competition in 2003. The next competition will be held in Enschede the Netherlands, affiliated to the AIAS event 2004.

The AIAS-Prize-of-Honour was again devided into two prizes. The winners were Bo-hyung Seo (Kaywon School of Art and Design) and Helgi Thorssonn (Sandberg Instituut, affiliated to the Rietveld Academie).

The exhibition and jury took place in the gallery of the Wimbledon School of Art. There were two Prize winners: Luzia Hurzeler of ESBAGE, Geneva and Yoo Jinee of the Kaywon School of Art and Design.
You can read the jury report here >>

The AIAS-Prize-of-Honour 2000 was exhibited in Geneva and was devided in an award for Design and an award for Fine Arts.
Janneke Küpfer of the Rietveld Accademy won the prize for Fine Arts (DM 2000).
The design award for design was for the partnership Corinne Bonnard and Sophie Rubin (Ecoles des Arts Décoratifs, Geneva) Bonnard and Rubin received DM 2000 together.

During the AIAS-workshop Park of the Future organized by the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, the jury of experts from the AIAS memberschools choose the prize of Honour winner 1999 from the works presented at the Park of the Future exhibition at the grounds of the Westergasfabriek.
The prize has occasionally been raised to DM 10.000.
The winners were Anneliese Sojer and the group of artists: Sean Hopper, Leon White, Luke Griffin. The prize winners received DM 5.000,- each.

In 1997 the AIAS-Prize-of-Honour was hosted by the Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Halle.
The jury decided against awarding a first prize because of the lack of aesthetic quality of the presented works.
Instead the jury proposed to spend the remaining prize money (DM 4.000.-) on an extra workshop with the theme ‘Destroyed Landscapes’, which was organized by the Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Halle in the spring of 1998.

In 1996 the best graduates of Film and Video were eligible for the AIAS-Prize-of-Honour.
At the Hochschule für Künstlerische und Industrielle Gestaltung in Linz, the jury unanimously chose the video animation of Volkert Schlecht (Hochschule für Kunst und Design, Burg Giebichenstein Halle) as the best contribution.
He received an amount of DM 4.000.

On the occasion of the 1996 General Assembly at the Hochschule für Künstlerische und Industrielle Gestaltung, Linz, two former prize-winners, Anna Yokochi from AR.CO and Heleen Krijgsman of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, were invited for a round table discussion about the effects of winning the AIAS-Prize-of-Honour.

In 1995 the AIAS-prize-of-Honour exhibition took place in Toyo Bijutsu Gakko of Tokyo, with the best graduates of the Graphic Design departments submitting their work.
The jury chose two prizewinners: Martin Kurzbein (Schule für Gestaltung, Zürich) and Heleen Krijgsman (Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam).
They each received DM 2.000.

During the general assembly of 1994 at the Esag in Paris, a jury of experts from the AIAS member-schools awarded the prize of Honour to two candidates: Ana Yokochi (AR.CO, Lisbon) for Art, and Harm W.Hogenbirk (Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam) for Design.

The prizewinners received an amount of DM 4.000.- each. An exhibition of all the candidates’ work was then held in a gallery in Paris.